The HBAM Senior Officers are elected annually by the Board of Directors at the Fall Board of Directors Meeting.

Lynne Pratt, CSP, CGB, CAPS
2018 President 
From Auburn Hills and the HBA of Southeastern Michigan.  Lynne worked in the family construction company before opening Pratt Building Company in 2001 to concentrate on land development.  She ultimately developed and built out several sizable residential projects.  She is a champion of professionalism within the industry and holds designations as a Certified Sales Professional (CSP), Certified Graduate Builder (CGB), and Certified Aging-in-Place Specialist (CAPS).  She has been active at every level the HBA federation for well over 25 years now, first becoming involved in her local Women’s Council.  Before long she was involved at the state and national levels and went on to serve as the national council chair in 2000.  She is proud to have assisted in the transition of the group into Professional Women in Construction and was named Woman of the Year in 2007.  Since then she has held a wide variety of positions and has chaired numerous NAHB committees.  Lynne received the NAHB President’s Award in 2001 and has been recognized as a leader in membership development, design and non-dues revenue development.  In addition to her state responsibilities, she continues as a Director of her local association and was elected to serve as NAHB’s National Area Chair. Email

Michael Flory
2018 First Vice President
Michael was born and raised in Lansing and graduated from Waverly High School. Now, living an adventure, he and his wife have 8 children. Owner of Custom Built Design & Remodeling, he’s honored to be serving as the Vice President of the HBA of Michigan. Michael is passionate about his team at Custom Built, and loves the family atmosphere they share together and extend to their clients.  Michael shares - “Family and home is extremely important to me! At Custom Built, we care about your home and believe you deserve to enjoy it to the fullest with your family and friends.  Our amazing clients put 110% of their trust in us as we guide them through our simple and clear process.”  With great attention to detail and their clients experience, Custom Built focuses on designing and remodeling kitchens, baths, decks, outdoor spaces, as well as finished basements and additions. Custom Built specializes in projects from concept to completion and they invite you to explore their process at www.callcustombuilt.com.  Email

Jack Vander Muelen
2018 Treasurer 

Jack has been involved in the company since 1973. Jack learned the construction business from the ground up, starting as a carpenter, assuming project management responsibilities in 1986. He has been president of the company since 1996. In addition to his leadership of the organization, Jack served as the president of the Lakeshore HBA in 1990, 2000 and 2014.  In 2001, Jack coordinated the Homebuilders Association community service project, building a Habitat for Humanity house. Email

Jason Orvosh
2018 Secretary

Co-owner of Orvosh Builders and president of the Home Builders Association of Midland, was recently named as one of Michigan’s Top Builders under the age of 40. Orvosh joined his family’s business upon graduating from Ferris State University with a degree in Construction Management. He specializes in new home construction and a large variety of remodeling projects. Jason gives back to the community by working with the building trade programs at both Bullock Creek Schools and Midland Public Schools. He has served on the board of the HBA of Midland since 2011 and was recipient of the 2012 Builder Member of the Year Award.

Jerry Whitaker
2018 Associate Senior Officer
Jerry Whitaker is a Senior Partner with Acrisure, the 15th largest privately held insurance broker in the United States and is celebrating his 25th year in the insurance industry. He specializes in contractor insurance, self-insured health plans and captive insurance programs.  He is currently a Board Member for the Home Builders Association of Western Michigan and chaired the HBAM Insurance Committee from 2012 to 2015. Email

L.R. Swadley, CGB
2018 Immediate Past President

Swadley has been a community developer and builder of  custom homes, condominiums, commercial buildings and senior housing in Marquette, in Michigan's Upper Peninsula for more than 35 years.  He has developed many neighborhoods, with strong emphasis on conservation areas, trails and creative land planning. He has been active in his local, state and national HBAs for his entire professional career.  As a result of being elected as a senior officer, Swadley is in line to become the first builder from the Upper Peninsula to be president of the HBA of Michigan.  Email

2017 Regional and Associate Vice Presidents

The Regional Vice Presidents are elected by the director members from their region to communicate problems or concerns to the state and to transmit state issues to the region. The Associate Vice President represents the associate membership.

Region I Vice President - Roger Papineau
Represents Grand Traverse, Northern, Upper Peninsula and North Central Lakes

Region II Vice President - Tom Bailey
Represents Bay, Central, Midland, NorthWest and Saginaw

Region III Vice President - John Diefenbacher
Represents Grand Rapids, Lakeshore and West

Region IV Vice President - Bill Dykhuis, CGB, GMB, CGP
Represents Barry, Western and Southwestern

Region V Vice President - Mike Parks
Represents Jackson, Lansing and Livingston

Region VI Vice President - Mike Zemla
Represents Flint, Shiawassee and Thumb

Region VII Vice President - Norman Finkelstein
Represents Southeastern, Lenawee, Monroe

Associate Vice President - Mike Tribble